CLINT EASTWOOD COULD HAVE BEEN JAMES BOND AND SUPERMAN


Clint Eastwood is brilliant. In fact he is essentially the king…. a hero! If I was walking down the street and accidentally clipped his heels or something and he turned round to me and did his glare, my bowels would literally just automatically empty themselves.

Talking recently, Eastwood has shed some light on roles he has been offered in the past… what can I say other then why oh why didn’t you take the role of Superman Clint. You would have caused Lex Luthor to eat kryptonite until his stomach exploded. Maybe that’s why he didn’t take either of these roles, he is just too damn cool.

Speaking to Hero Complex he revealed, “I was also offered pretty good money to do James Bond if I would take on the role.”

Personally I would have loved this, he easily could have pulled off ultra cool back in the Dirty Harry days… then again Clint saw this as the wrong move for him so I guess I gotta agree,

“This was after Sean Connery left,” he continued “But to me, well, that was somebody else’s gig. That’s Sean’s deal. It didn’t feel right for me to be doing it.”

Speaking about Superman we get a similar kind of situation rising.

“I can remember – and this was many years ago – when Frank Wells came to me about doing Superman. So it could have happened. This was when they first started to think about making it. I was like, ‘Superman? Nah, nah, that’s not for me.’ Not that there’s anything wrong with it. It’s for somebody, but not me.” He went on to explain that while he thought Christopher Reeve did a great job as the man of steel, he was worried about being typecast,

“That was a big factor. You get a role like that, and it locks you in a bit. True, I had the western genre and the ‘Dirty Harry’ role, but everybody made westerns and did cop movies; they didn’t seem as bad.”

Still it’s nice to think that we could have seen a legend don two incredible roles, then again if he had done those then maybe he wouldn’t have considered turning into a director… then we wouldn’t have gotten the incredible Gran Torino and that my friends would have been the real shame!

Comments
3 Responses to “CLINT EASTWOOD COULD HAVE BEEN JAMES BOND AND SUPERMAN”
  1. dailypop says:

    So we missed out on hearing: “I gotta ask you, Lex… do you feel lucky?”

    I remember when Dark Knight Returns was printed, fans saw Clint Eastwood as the old version of Batman, which I can see. It kinda holds true in Batman Beyond as well. What do you think about that?

    • origamikid says:

      I think I could have seen Clint as an older Batman back in the day, he’s a little skinny for the role but he can pull off that calm, calculated character like almost no-one around. I’m not sure if I could see him in the cowl so much though.

      If they were to cast him now in a Marvel movie however I could see him playing Stick, Matt Murdock’s sensei, if they did a rebooted Daredevil movie. I’d love to see that!

      • dailypop says:

        Oh I can definitely see him as Stick. I wonder if the reboot DD film will ever get off the ground, Frank Miller and Jason Statham said they were interested a ways back. Neither has a great track record on film, but it could work if the story was good.

        I’m a big DD fan and so desperately want to see the guy get a decent movie.

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 13 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

