Scott Pilgrim vs. The World … The Video Game! Impressions


Scott Pilgrim vs. The World… here is a big shocker for gaming in 2010, it actually doesn’t look like a big pile of shit! Ubisoft have taken what should have been a big ol’ cash in title and actually seemed to have put some TLC into this project.

Check the trailer:

First things first – The music is fucking incredible! It is 8-bit heaven, I want that soundtrack inside of me… or at the very least on my Ipod! Ubisoft get that shit on Itunes before my balls explode! Seriously loving it, they really can still make some epic 8-bit stuff if they want to! Turn your speakers up loud!

While I have personally never read Scott Pilgrim vs. The World, mainly because I am not a teenage girl, I have of course checked out some of the book after the movies superb trailers came out and Ubisoft have clearly made sure that this game sticks as closely in style (and general Japanese style madness) as physically possible. It is coming to the Playstation Network (PSN) this October, although expect a 360 release date close to then is all I am going to say.

“Looking at that trailer I see my childhood, only… it is my childhood after it has been distorted through some weird teenage girl …machine.”

Any fans of Streets of Rage reading? Well guess what, while we wait for the eventual HD remakes of those classic games, this is going to be the next best thing! The gameplay itself doesn’t look to do anything original, then again what more could you honestly want added to this game? The side scrolling beat ’em up was perfected by Streets of Rage and and Final Fight over 20 years ago and quite honestly I wouldn’t want anything major changed. One thing I am hearing that makes me smile is that the special attack powers are, instead of a police car that shot exploding rockets at your enemies …ala Streets of Rage, you can hold down a taunt button which will have young Scott whip out a guitar and have a rock out…get all 4 people doing this and you will all have a proper rock out – giving a full on performance and decimating your enemies…sounds cool huh!? Oh …yea the game IS 4 player co-op… I bet that got you bloody excited, I know it did me!

Looking at that trailer I see my childhood, only… it is my childhood after it has been distorted through some weird teenage girl …machine. It is the gameplay we love and remember…but LOOK at the colours. The glorious colours and all the mental shit happening on screen, this is going to be SO much fun! SPvsTW:G (how it shall now be refereed to) literally looks like it takes the best elements of each of the classic beat-em up games and drops them all into one colourfully awesome pot and mixes it up with some of the best character design and in-game music i have seen & heard in ages!

“It literally looks like it takes the best elements of each of the classic beat-em up games and drops them all into one colourfully awesome pot

Realistically am I ever going to care about the story? Unlikely, because lets face it- if a chick, no matter how hot said to me, “Hey Josh if you want to date me then you need to win my heart by defeating my 7 evil ex’s!” I would be all like, “errmm that sounds like FAR to much effort, I am just going to get drunk at the bar and see if I can get lucky!” So let’s face it, I am never going to like, understand or even remotly enjoy the story- because quite frankly I think it is bollocks and I think the comic is bollocks as well… but if the game is going to turn out this good and if this brings some more girls into comics (like in Kick-Ass) then well I guess that is only a good thing!

At the end of the day there is only one thing you want, and can ask for in a game which has ZERO opportunity of revolutionizing gameplay or producing something wholly unique. That question is, “Does it look fun?”

The answer is yes, yes it fucking well does!

-Josh/Origami kid

Comments
One Response to “Scott Pilgrim vs. The World … The Video Game! Impressions”
  1. origamikid says:

    Found out some other cool stuff:

    The soundtrack has been done by Anamanaguchi – check him out here: http://www.anamanaguchi.com/

    And secondly: As you fight and kill stuff you gain EXP which can (rather awesomely) be spent at River City Ransom type shops to buy accessories, weapons and items! Hells yes!

    The more I watch it, the more it reminds me of Double Dragon as well! This literally looks like it takes the best elements of each of the classic beat-em up games and drops them all into one colourfully awesome game that has some of the best character design i have seen in ages!

Leave a Reply

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 14 other followers

